Arrangements for viola and cello together.

"Glixon's arrangements add significantly to the limited repertoire available for this combination...”

- Daniel Goodman, pianist/arranger

Welcome to the home of Pernambuco Publishing! If you are a violist or cellist, love Bach's cello suites and viola da gamba sonatas, wish Schubert's Arpeggione Sonata had been written in a more reasonable range, or feel frustrated by the lack of repertoire for viola and cello duo, then this website is for you!

Here you will find my highly performable arrangements of:

  • Bach - Six Cello Suites (for viola & cello duo)
  • Bach - Three Viola da Gamba Sonatas (for viola, cello, & continuo)
  • Schubert - "Arpeggione" Sonata (for viola, cello, & piano)

In their original solo format, musicians may find some of these pieces challenging to play on either cello or viola That's not surprising, since the Bach and Schubert sonatas were intended to be played, respectively, on viola da gamba and arpeggione which are both six-stringed instruments tuned in intervals of fourths and thirds. Likewise, Bach's Suite #5 requires the A string to be tuned down a whole step, and Suite #6 was written for five-string cello.

By contrast, in my duo arrangements, the music is shared by two instruments, thereby:

  • increasing its accessibility to more players
  • creating a rewarding shared musical experience for both the performers and their audiences
  • illuminating (in the case of the Suites) the implicit harmonies and conversational lines
  • adding a large body of powerful music to the viola/cello duet repertoire

I hope you will find joy in reading and performing these arrangements! Click here for a full listing.

Please note: All the arrangements described above have been completed, but have not all been through their final preparations for publication. If you would like to be notified of the release of each piece as it become available, I would be happy to add you to my mailing list.

If you have any questions or want to share your comments or feedback, simply send me an email here.

Judith M. Glixon - cellist, arranger, publisher